Waterloo, IA: (319) 232-1156 | Cedar Falls, IA: (319) 266-3593

Tag Archives: Bill Dix

Action Alert: Business Tax Coupling in Iowa Senate

The Greater Cedar Valley Alliance & Chamber encourages our investors and business owners in the Cedar Valley to contact  Senators and encourage them to pass the bill regarding Business Tax Coupling.
The Greater Cedar Valley Alliance & Chamber is closely watching legislation that would allow coupling of Iowa state taxes with federal tax law under Section 179 to allow tax deductions for equipment purchased, certain investments made, and particular individual deductions claimed by businesses in 2015.

Here are some of the items that will not be eligible for a deduction on your Iowa taxes if the Iowa Senate does not act:

  • Small business equipment purchases (including business vehicles, computers and office furniture)
  • IRA contributions to charity
  • Gain from qualified small business stock
  • Basis adjustment for S corporation charitable contributions
  • Built-in gain tax five-year recognition period
  • Educator expense deduction
  • Qualified tuition deduction
  • Conservation easement deductions
  • Deduction for food inventory contributions

The bill has already passed the Iowa House (House File 2092) and is now being considered by the Iowa Senate.  Please contact your Senator and encourage them to pass this bill that would couple state and federal tax policies to allow for these business deductions.

District 25 – Senator Bill Dix

bill.dix@legis.iowa.gov

District 26 – Senator Mary Jo Wilhelm

mary.jo.wilhelm@legis.iowa.gov

District 27 – Senator Amanda Ragan

amanda.ragan@legis.iowa.gov

District 30 – Senator Jeff Danielson

jeff.danielson@legis.iowa.gov

District 31 – Senator Bill Dotzler

bill.dotzler@legis.iowa.gov

District 32 – Senator Brian Schoenjahn

brian.schoenjahn@legis.iowa.gov

District 36 – Senator Steve Sodders

steve.sodders@legis.iowa.gov

District 38 – Senator Tim Kapucian

tim.kapucian@legis.iowa.gov

Unsure who to contact?   Find your district Senator here.

For more information, contact Steve Firman, Director of Government Relations.

Be part of something greater - The Cedar Valley of Iowa

The Greater Cedar Valley Alliance & Chamber is a regional economic community development corporation working to increase economic vitality and wealth in the Waterloo / Cedar Falls area and surrounding economic region. The Alliance & Chamber has approximately 800 members that represents over 40,000 employees